Postcode Search
xmas alert
Christmas and New Year in Sedgemoor

Sedgemoor District Council will remain open for business as usual during the holiday period on all days except bank holidays.

Rubbish and recycling collections will be two days later from Monday 25th to Friday 29th December, and one day later between Monday 1st to Friday 5th January. A Bank Holiday Collection leaflet from the Somerset Waste Partnership is available here: Icon for pdf Christmas & New Year Refuse Collections 2017/2018 [22.09KB]

Sedgemoor District Council background information

Read about the Council's history, our political and management structure, our role and constitution.

The Role of Sedgemoor District Council

The District Council provides a varied range of services to local residents, business and visitors. Some services we have a duty to provide (known as statutory services) and some are provided because the Council and the areas population feel they are important. Many people will be unaware which authority is responsible for providing the services they receive, Sedgemoor along with the other local authorities in Somerset are working together to find ways of providing access to all services from any authorities outlets.

Your Councillors cannot be an expert in all the services, but they will be aware of them, even those the Council is not directly responsible for! Your Councillor should be able to answer questions from their constituents and ensure that the necessary help is received.

The main services currently provided by Sedgemoor District Council include:

Abandoned Vehicles; Beaches and Resorts; Benefits; Building Control; Car Parks; Care Centre; CCTV; Cemeteries; Coastal and Land Drainage; Community grants; Community Safety; Conservation; Council Tax; Dog Wardens; Economic Development; Elections; Environmental Health - food, health and noise; Grounds Maintenance; Homelessness; Housing; Land Charges; Legal Services; Licensing; Parks and Open Spaces; Pest Control; Planning; Pollution Control; Public Conveniences; Recycling; Refuse (rubbish collection); Street cleaning; Street Naming and Numbering; Tree Management.

Management Structure

The senior staffing structure at Sedgemoor District Council is best portrayed in pictorial form, in the following diagram:  Icon for pdf Management Structure [1002.52KB]

History and Background of Sedgemoor District Council

Sedgemoor District Council was formed in 1974 from Burnham-on-Sea Urban District Council; part of Axbridge Rural District Council; Bridgwater Rural District Council and Bridgwater Borough Council.

Political Structure

The Council consists of 48 Councillors elected every four years by qualifying residents of Sedgemoor. The current political make up is 35 Conservatives, 10 Labour, 1 Liberal Democrat and 2 UKIP. The Area is split into 23 Wards, each electing one or more Councillors depending on the density of the ward's population.

Executive Cabinet Structure 2016 [813.44KB]