Postcode Search
Budget Consultation Icon
Budget Consultation

Sedgemoor District Council wants you to have your say in how the Council should spend your Council Tax.

Take part in our Budget Consultation here.

Leader of Council's Office/ Executive

The Leader is elected by the political group that hold the majority number of seats on the Full Council. He is supported by a Deputy Leader and seven portfolio holders who make up the Executive.

The Executives are:

Leader of Council Councillor Duncan McGinty
Deputy Leader Councillor Dawn Hill
Infrastructure Councillor Peter Downing
Health and Wellbeing Councillor Gill Slocombe
Customers and Communities Councillor Ann Bown
Business and Development Councillor Michael Caswell
Economic Growth Councillor Anne Fraser
Housing Councillor Andrew Gilling
New Homes Councillor Derek Alder

Contact details for the Executive and Leader can be found below, as well as the Executive Structure diagram

Civic Office

The Chairman of the Council, Councillor Mike Cresswell, is the District's first citizen and the civic figurehead of the whole Council. The vice-chairman is Councillor Paul Herbert. These are non-political appointments and both appointments are for the municipal year 2018/2019.

The Chairman of the Council, or Vice-Chairman of the Council in his absence, will represent Sedgemoor District Council at both external or internal Civic events, will welcome Royal visitors within protocol laid down by the Lord Lieutenant, and host appropriate foreign civic dignitaries.

The Civic diary and organisation of Sedgemoor District Council events hosted by the Chairman of the Council is organised by Democratic Services.
The Chairman of the Council also chairs the Full Council meetings (held every eight weeks).

pdf Executive Diagram 2016 [811.62KB]