Skip navigation

Councillors and Councils within Sedgemoor

Find out about your local Council, as well as recent Reports, Agendas & Minutes (RAM).

The Chairman of Sedgemoor District Council is the district's first citizen and the civic figure head for the whole Council. For the 2015/2016 year Councillor Ian Dyer has been elected as Chairman. The Vice-Chairman is Councillor Mike Cresswell. Axbridge, Bridgwater, Burnham on sea and North Petherton Town Councils each have their own elected Mayor, for more details please contact the Town Clerk's.

Reports, agendas and minutes

Sedgemoor District Council has made all reports, agendas, minutes and decision notices, as well as documents from past and present Committee meetings, available online.

To access these documents, please visit the following page: Reports, Agendas & Minutes

Member Development

Sedgemoor District Council is committed to learning and development for its Councillors. It recognises the contribution that such investment can make in supporting elected members in their various roles and, as with its staff, it is committed to realising the potential of Councillors to contribute fully to the success of the organisation. The Council has adopted a planned approach to Councillors Development and to actively involve elected members in setting the priorities for learning and development each year and in reviewing the operation and outcomes of the Learning & Development Programme.

For more information on Member Development, please see pdf icon Member Development [11kb]

Becoming a Councillor

If you are interested in becoming a  District Councillor, a small booklet containing an outline of the councillor's role is available from the council's press office. There is a link below that is a generic view of becoming a councillor at any level.

To obtain this, please contact Customer Services.